Skip to main content

CLC Leadership

 About Our President:



Vonda McDaniel, President

Vonda joined the United Rubber Workers (URW) in 1992 at the Bridgestone-Firestone Lavergne Plant, where she has worked for the last 30 years. Shortly after joining the Union, she became a Shop Steward which began her Union journey. In 1995, URW merged with the United Steelworkers (USW), opening up new opportunities for her as a young activist. Vonda was trained in the USW’s Women of Steel initiative, which equipped her with vital tools to become a leader in her Union and community. She went on to become a trainer in the program herself. After 10 years as a local Union Pension and Insurance Representative, Vonda was elected President of the Central Labor Council of Nashville and Middle Tennessee in 2013.

Re-examining the sanitation strikes of TN workers can be instructive of the path forward. Vonda understands that intentional collaboration at the intersections of labor, civil rights, faith and student activism can bring us closer to the promise of equality for all and build real power for transformative change.

Growing up in Nashville, Vonda’s activism continues to be shaped by the influence of the church she grew up in. First Baptist Church, Capitol Hill was an early center of student organizing during the civil rights movement. There she learned how ordinary people can make extraordinary change.  

Vonda is a graduate of TN State University. She is a lifetime member of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc, A. Philip Randolph Institute Nashville Chapter, and CBTU. She serves on TN State Workforce Investment Board, Vice-Chair of Music City Center  Board,  and Emerge TN Cabinet.   She is a member of the State Fed and Central Labor Council Advisory Committee and the AFL-CIO Racial Justice Task Force.  In October 2017, she was elected as a Vice- President to the national AFL-CIO Executive Council.


2020-2022 Executive Board


Vonda McDaniel


OPEIU Local 182/USW 1055

Charles L Smith

1st Vice President

UAW 737

Eric Coons

2nd Vice President

UA 572

Misty Robertson

3rd Vice President

CWA 3808

Ethan Link


LIUNA Local 386

Sara Duran



Mark Poole

Sergeant at Arms

IBEW 429

Darryl Wilson

At Large 


Honey Hereth

At Large

SEIU Local 205

Rick Parks

At Large

IAFF 140

James Shaw

At Large

A. Phillip Randolph Institute

Garrett Stark

At Large

 Jobs With Justice

Ralph Beard


OPEIU Local 277

Kim Sansom     


IBEW Local 429

Brian Loshl